What's new
iamretro

Wow! It seems you have yet to create an account with us! Needless to say, you have to register in order to get the full "iamretro" experience! You will then be able to create your own topics, reply to posts and be an active member of the MOST prolific community in Greece (even further than that, but we're being modest for now). So don't delay! REGISTER!

Atari 8-bit demo "Control" running on 65c816 @ 16 MHz

nkary

Too Retro to post!
Comrade
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
4,431
Δείτε παρακάτω πως τρέχει σε έναν απλό atari και πως σε έναν με "φτιαγμένο" με τον 65c816 @ 16 MHz
Τεράστια διαφορά :eek:
http://youtubedoubler.com/?video1=6OsK4 ... uthorName=
The 65816 is almost a drop-in upgrade to a 6502 system, bringing 16-bit operations and new opcodes and addressing modes and a 24-bit addressing space. In this case, the upgrade is running at 16MHz, so there's a sophisticated 4-layer board to be built - Michał "Pasiu" Pasiecznik's prototype upgrade card. It plugs into the original 65C02 socket, and accepts the original CPU in a socket on top.
The demo - called "Control" and originally by Oxygene - is in fact a backport from the Amiga.
There's a limitation to speedup when a fast CPU upgrade has to spend a lot of time writing to slow system memory to update the screen - and another missed opportunity if the new CPU has more capability but is just being used in compatibility mode.
http://www.6502.org/mini-projects/816conv/conv.html
http://www.baltissen.org/newhtm/02to816.htm
http://jefftranter.blogspot.co.uk/2012/ ... essor.html

Η κάρτα



Timing
System clock @ 32 MHz
65c816 @ 16MHz (assuming lack of so called "waitstates" generated by slower peripherals on the card)
Atari Bus Manager @ 56 MHz
SDRAM @ 128 MHz

Memory
512kB SRAM
16 MB SDRAM (14.MB used)
512 KB Flash (256 kB reserved for the card)

PCB
4 layers
dimensions: 89 mm x 51 mm (3.5" x 2.01")

The card is placed in a socket of the original 6502C, which in turn migrates to the card (without the 6502C my card simply will not work). In the case of XE series you'll need an additional adapter for connecting the card. It can be visible as a NEW DEVICE - you'll need to connect two wires literally. No additional clock signals are needed. You don't need to connect an external power supply, but of course the standard Atari AC adapter will not enough.

This device would provide several modes ultimately, starting from the almost full compliance with the standard Atari - up to independent work.

A prototype works in the computer with Q-MEG OS, standard AtariOS and VBXE ver 1.0. As for the compatibility with other extensions, it should not be problems with cooperation, if they are made in accordance with the keeping all timings for the 6502C.

I do not plan any pre-orders in the near future until I consede that the status of the project is more than adequate.I attached two screenshots from SysInfo. MIPS measurements were performed with the screen turned on.

Δημιουργός
Michał Pasiecznik (Pasiu/SSG)
http://atarionline.pl/v01/index.php?ct= ... 1342207846

Φαντάζομαι ότι οι αταράδες θα το γνωρίζετε ήδη (ε Δημήτηρη?) αλλά εγώ δεν είχα ιδέα :eek:
Εδώ θα χρειαστούμε τον Optimus ;)
 

chriskgnr

Retro Guru
Comrade
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
2,067
αν μη τι άλλο εντυπωσιακότατο! :clap: :clap:
 

geoanas

Commodore Vampire
Staff member
Comrade
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
7,328
...με το στόμα ανοικτό :eek: :shock: :clap:
 

turrican

Retro Guru
Comrade
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
2,953
Αχά! Θυμίζει αυτό το μαγικό κουτάκι του Commodore 64, το SuperCPU!!!
(Το επόμενο up του Geo!!! :mrgreen: )

> 20 MHz Turbo board for the C64/C128 Details
> Features the 65816, a further developed 6502 type processor Details
> SuperRAM card allows to have up to 16 MB memory Details
> Highest possible compatibility

 

geoanas

Commodore Vampire
Staff member
Comrade
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
7,328
Δυστυχώς Δημήτρη οι super CPU έχουν εξαντληθεί (όταν κυκλοφορούσαν και είχα και 2 φράγκα ΔΕΝ μου έκοψε να πάρω καμια...καλά να πάθω τώρα :evil: ...). Οι Turbo Chameleons [ http://www.syntiac.com/chameleon.html ] όμως συνεχίζουν, αλλά η τιμή τους είναι στα άστρα.... :? :roll:
 

nkary

Too Retro to post!
Comrade
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
4,431
geoanas said:
Δυστυχώς Δημήτρη οι super CPU έχουν εξαντληθεί (όταν κυκλοφορούσαν και είχα και 2 φράγκα ΔΕΝ μου έκοψε να πάρω καμια...καλά να πάθω τώρα :evil: ...). Οι Turbo Chameleons [ http://www.syntiac.com/chameleon.html ] όμως συνεχίζουν, αλλά η τιμή τους είναι στα άστρα.... :? :roll:
Ναι ρε μόνο 250 έρουρος και Out of stock ;)
Οπότε υπολόγισε πόσο θα κοστίσει αν αποφασίσει κάποιος να το πουλήσει :lol:
 

chriskgnr

Retro Guru
Comrade
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
2,067
να θυμίσω εδώ βέβαια σαν Acornάς που ειμαι, ότι το BBC micro έχει second processors εδω και 30βάλε χρόνια! :cool: :cool:
 

turrican

Retro Guru
Comrade
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
2,953
Αχ είχα πετύχει μια super CPU πριν χρόνια στο ebay αλλά.... :|
 
Top